Star Wars: Armada – My First 400-Point Game, Part 1

Rebel freedomAbout two weeks ago, my good friend DevCross and I played our first 400-point Star Wars: Armada match. I played the Empire and he the Rebel scum. I decided to focus on heavy capital ships with few squadrons. DevCross decided to do the opposite and fielded a squadron heavy fleet, with pilots like Luke Skywalker, Wedge Antilles and “Dutch” Vander, and several but smaller capital ships. Our fleet builds can be found here:

Empire: Test 1

Rebels: Dodo’s Last Stand

As the player with initiative, I selected Intel Sweep as the mission objective. Our setup ended up looking like this:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

At the end of round 1, the ships were just starting to get within range of each other but my flagship was able to pick up one of the 5 victory tokens for the Intel Sweep mission.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Things started heating up in round 2. By the end of round 2, Rebel scum had destroyed my IG-88. Accurate x-wing and y-wing fire prevented IG-88 from using its defense ability. However, it got a few good hits on every single squadron that shot at it. My flagship had only 1 shield left in its front and starboard hulls. I was overconfident because I had Admiral Motti leading my fleet, which increases the hull value of my two ships by 3, but realized that I needed to make better use of my defense tokens in the following rounds or the X-wings would make me bleed.

Notice a big swatch of empty space right behind that squadron of x-wings and in front of my flagship? That is the space a CR90 Corellian Corvette leaves when it is destroyed in one round by the crossfire from two Imperial II-class star destroyers. My flagship did suffer 1 damage after it rammed that Corvette.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Part Two Coming Soon!

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

